Centreville Physician Named President of the Medical Association

Centreville Physician Named President of the Medical Association

BIRMINGHAM – Long-time Centreville physician, John S. Meigs Jr., M.D., was named president of the Medical Association of the State of Alabama during the Association’s Annual Meeting and Business Session last week. Dr. Meigs also serves on the board for the Alabama Board of Medical Examiners.

“The Association welcomes Dr. Meigs’ continued service on the Board of Censors as president,” Executive Director Mark Jackson said. “His medical experience, as well as his civic-mindedness and sense of compassion brings a strong perspective to the Board. It is a genuine pleasure to work with such a leader in the medical community.”

Dr. Meigs received his medical degree from the University of South Alabama and completed his internship and residency in family medicine with UAB/Selma Family Practice Residency Program.

He is a Diplomate with the American Board of Family Medicine. He is also a past president and former board chair of the Alabama Academy of Family Physicians; a Fellow, former Speaker, a past president and immediate past board chair with the American Academy of Family Physicians, and member of the American Medical Association. With the Medical Association, Dr. Meigs has served as a Delegate, Counselor, Life Counselor, Speaker of the House of Delegates, Board of Censors and on numerous committees. From 2009 to 2018 he served on the State Committee of Public Health and was their Chair his last four years.

In 2014, Dr. Meigs received the high honor of being elected to the Alabama Healthcare Hall of Fame, which recognizes those persons who have made outstanding contributions to or rendered exemplary service for health care in the State of Alabama.

Dedicated to giving back to his community, Dr. Meigs has served as a clinical professor at The University of Alabama College of Community and Health Science and a clinical professor at the University of Alabama-Birmingham School of Medicine. He is currently a member of the clinical faculty of the Cahaba Family Medicine Residency Program in Centreville. Additionally, he was named 2004 Bibb County Citizen of the Year by the Kiwanis Club. He has also served as President of Distinguished Young Women of Bibb County and is an active member of Brent Baptist Church where he serves as Moderator and as a deacon.

Dr. Meigs has been a member of the Bibb County Medical Society and the Medical Association since 1982.  He has been on the active medical staff of Bibb Medical Center since 1982.  His practice of Family Medicine continues with Bibb Medical Associates in Centreville.


Meet the 2019-2020 Board Officers and Board of Censors

  • John S. Meigs, Jr., M.D., President
  • Aruna Thotakura Arora, M.D., President-Elect
  • Jefferson Underwood, III, M.D., Immediate Past President
  • Amanda Williams, M.D., Vice President
  • Alexis T. Mason, M.D., Secretary-Treasurer
  • Julia L. Boothe, M.D., Speaker
  • Thomas James Weida, M.D., Vice-Speaker
  • Mark H. LeQuire, M.D., Board Chairman, At-Large Place No. 1
  • Michael T. Flanagan, M.D., Board Vice Chairman, 2nd District Censor
  • Max Rogers, M.D., 1st District Censor
  • Gary F. Leung, M.D., 3rd District Censor
  • Dick Owens, M.D., 4th District Censor
  • Patrick J. O’Neill, M.D., 5th District Censor
  • Eli L. Brown, M.D., 6th District Censor
  • Jane A. Weida, M.D., FAAFP, 7th District Censor
  • Beverly F. Jordan, M.D., At-Large Place No. 2
  • Hernando D. Carter, M.D., At-Large Place No. 3
  • Gregory Wayne Ayers, M.D., At-Large Place No. 4
  • William Jay Suggs, At-Large Place No. 5

Posted in: Members

Leave a Comment (0) ↓