ALAPAC Announces First Contributions of 2022 Election Cycle

The Alabama Medical PAC (ALAPAC), the official political committee of Alabama physicians and the Medical Association, has announced its first contributions for the 2022 election cycle. 

In 2021, ALAPAC launched a new governance model comprised of Regional Boards which work in conjunction with the Board of Directors to vet candidates for local legislative and Congressional races as well as statewide races.  This model grants local physicians across the state authority in determining how physician contributions to ALAPAC are dispersed.  If you have interest in participating on an ALAPAC Regional Board, please contact us here.

Regarding candidates for the Alabama Senate and Alabama House, in July, nine of ALAPAC’s 11 Regional Boards met and considered contributions for candidates.  In all, 30 candidates for legislative races – incumbents of both parties – were recommended to receive ALAPAC support from the respective Regional Boards of physicians in those areas.  The ALAPAC Board of Directors then considered and concurred in each recommendation made by the Regional Boards.   

Regarding candidates for statewide office, also in July the ALAPAC Board of Directors and the 11 Regional Boards met together, considered and approved contributions for Gov. Kay Ivey, Lt. Gov. Will Ainsworth and Attorney General Steve Marshall, all incumbents running for reelection.  

“Each of the candidates receiving ALAPAC support at this time are men and women the Medical Association has worked well with across a multitude of issues,” ALAPAC Chair David Herrick, M.D., said.  “ALAPAC will continue to identify and support candidates for office medicine can work with to address the increasing number of challenges facing patients, physicians and our state.”

Alabama Senate

Sen. Will Barfoot (R) – Pike Road
Sen. Tom Butler (R) – Madison
Sen. Donnie Chesteen (R) – Geneva
Sen. Sam Givhan (R) – Huntsville
Sen. Garlan Gudger (R) – Cullman
Sen. Tim Melson (R) – Florence
Sen. Greg Reed (R) – Jasper

Sen. Dan Roberts (R) – Birmingham
Sen. Clay Scofield (R) – Guntersville
Sen. Larry Stutts (R) – Tuscumbia
Sen. Jabo Waggoner (R) – Vestavia Hills
Sen. April Weaver (R) – Alabaster
Sen. Jack Williams (R) – Wilmer

Alabama House of Representatives

Rep. Steve Clouse (R) – Ozark
Rep. Anthony Daniels (D) – Huntsville
Rep. David Faulkner (R) – Homewood
Rep. Gil Isbell (R) – Gadsden
Rep. Nathaniel Ledbetter (R) – Rainsville
Rep. Paul Lee (R) – Dothan
Rep. Craig Lipscomb (R) – Gadsden
Rep. Rhett Marques (R) – Enterprise
Rep. Charlotte Meadows (R) – Montgomery

Rep. Arnold Mooney (R) – Birmingham
Rep. Ed Oliver (R) – Dadeville
Rep. Neil Rafferty (D) – Birmingham
Rep. Connie Rowe (R) – Jasper
Rep. Chris Sells (R) – Greenville
Rep. Jeff Sorrells (R) – Hartford
Rep. Tim Wadsworth (R) – Arley
Rep. David Wheeler (R) – Vestavia Hills

Posted in: ALAPAC

Leave a Comment (0) ↓